Atlas of Pheasants: genus Pucrasia

Atlas of Pheasants: genus Pucrasia

Scientific classification - Pucrasia spp.

Kingdom: Animals
Phylum: Cordati
Subphylum: Vertebrates
Class: Birds
Order: Galliformi
Family: Phasianides
Genus: Pucrasia

The pucrasias, also called Koklass pheasants, are a group of birds comprising a single species divided into nine subspecies:
- Himalayan pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha macrolopha)
- western pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha castanea)
- Kashmir pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha biddulphi)
- Nepalese pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha nipalensis)
- Meyer's pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha meyeri)
- orange-collared pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha rufficollis)
- yellow-necked pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha xanthospila)
- Joret pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha jorentiana)
- Darwin's pucrasia (Pucrasia macrolopha darwini)
The diffusion area in nature is very wide and includes: Afghanistan, China, the Himalaya, Nepal and Tibet.

Morphological characteristics

The pucrasias are modest-sized pheasants whose males are characterized by the presence of three tufts on the head which shake during the wedding parade; It is a genus with a marked sexual dimorphism in which the males of the various subspecies differ in the chromatic diversity of plumage, while the females all have a plumage in the brownish complex, this has always made the recognition of the various subspecies difficult and has favored their libido. They are birds with fairly frugal habits: they are resistant to low temperatures and their diet is mainly vegetarian.

Orange-collared pucrasia, male (photo
Yellow-necked Pucrasia, male (photo

Video: Nebraskas Upland Bird Hunting Hotbed. The Flush: Season 9, Episode #6